Week 6: It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like…A House!

My patience has really been tested the past couple of weeks, as it has been about two weeks since our house was touched. I’ve visited every day, amazed at how fast our neighborhood is looking more and more like a little community, and of course to check and see if framing had started on our home. Well, late this evening, driving around with a friend, I decided to drive through my neighborhood and to my screams of delight I saw this:

These guys were working late into the evening. Grateful!

Let me tell you, it was like Christmas Day!! I was so utterly excited and took way too many photos, but I will post a few for your viewing pleasure. It’s interesting how looking at the footprint of the house with just the foundation, our home seemed smaller than I’d imagined. But now as I begin to see it take shape, it looks much bigger. Hats off to the framing crew who were working till sunset to get our first floor completed.

I met a couple of neighbors sitting on their porch today (I still wish we’d been able to get the porch, but I’m not bitter. Not at all. Nope. Not me.) They were very friendly and seem pretty settled in their home.

Oh yeah. Last Monday, I got a call from our Guardian rep asking if we could meet last Wednesday to mark out our home for wiring. I thought this was strange, as it would mean that our house would be framed in 2 days! Of course, wires had been crossed (pun intended) and we postponed the meeting. Maybe it will happen next week though!

Now for the pics:

Garage, looking through to kitchen and morning room.
Foyer, study on the right, looking through to formal dining and family room
Morning room
Ready for level 2!

Published by

Kristie

Kristie is a pastor's wife, mom, Bible teacher, and author of His Testimonies, My Heritage: Women of Color on the Word of God, released September 2019. She currently serves as the Associate Director of Women's Workshops for the Charles Simeon Trust, helping to equip women Bible teachers. She joyfully supports her husband of almost 28 years, Thabiti, as he pastors Anacostia River Church in Washington, DC. They have 3 children. She has written contributions to the ESV Women's Devotional Bible; Word-Filled Women's Ministry: Loving and Serving the Church; Women on Life: A Call to Love the Unborn, Unloved and Neglected; and Hospitality Matters: Reviving an Ancient Practice for Modern Missions. Her work can also be found at The Front Porch, The Gospel Coalition, Desiring God, Christianity Today, and Revive Our Hearts. You can follow her on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter (@kanyabwile).

One thought on “Week 6: It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like…A House!”

Leave a comment